

Inspire together & expand horizons

AGM Meeting Minutes April 29, 2023 – 9:30-10:15am P/10:30-11:15am M

Location: Gallery 2 (Reid Gallery), Grand Forks (524 Central Avenue)

And via Zoom:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88026547901?pwd=WGV6bjNYc2xuS3o0RXBXTW1MZWRRUT09

Meeting ID: 880 2654 7901

Passcode: 480361

Trustees in attendance: Cheryl Ahrens (Grand Forks Board Member), Kevin Atherton (Elkford), Joanne Beetstra (Trail), Eileen Daniel (Rossland Alternate – Zoom), Dave Evans (Greenwood), Randi Fjeldseth (Nelson - Zoom), Dianne Galloway (Castlegar), Jennifer Gawne (Salmo - Zoom), Shannon Girardo (Beaver Valley - Zoom), Mary Kierans (Grand Forks), Jan Kohlhauser (Midway), Deborah Lefleur (Grand Forks Board Member), Daneve McAffer (Invermere - Zoom), Ellen McDonnell (Grand Forks Board Member), Debbra Mikaelsen (Penticton), Dan Moe (Kimberley), Laurie Riehl (Creston), Shori Smith (Nakusp - Zoom), Abigail Steele (Rossland - Zoom), Brenda Steer (Midway Alternate), Jen Tagg (Radium - Zoom), Gail Wakulich (Cranbrook), Margaret Wanke (Kaslo), Terry Welsh (KLF Treasurer & Nakusp Alternate)

Regrets: Frank Longo (Fernie)

Guests: Everett Baker (Grand Forks Mayor), Adrienne Wass (Public Libraries Branch)

KLF Staff: Melanie Reaveley, Executive Director

Library Directors: Jim Bertoia (Sparwood - Zoom), Chelsey Boersma-Scott (Midway - Zoom), Ursula Brigl (Cranbrook), Heather Buzzell (Penticton), Taylor Caron (Salmo), Cari Lynn Gawletz (Grand Forks), Saara Itkonen (Creston), Eva Kelemen (Kaslo), Jacquie Kozak (Radium – Zoom), Samantha Murphy (Trail), Marie Onyett (Beaver Valley – Zoom), Claire Paradis (Nakusp), Kim Partanen (Castlegar - Zoom), Tracey Therrien (Nelson)

Call to Order

- 1. Territorial Acknowledgement Cari Gawletz, Grand Forks Library Director
- 2. Meeting opening and welcome by Everett Baker, Mayor of Grand Forks and Mary Kierans, Grand Forks Board Member.

- 3. Adoption of consent agenda moved by Gail Wakulich and seconded by Joanne Beetstra. Carried.
- 4. Motion to approve the minutes of the April 30, 2022 AGM made by Kevin Atherton and seconded by Dave Evans. Carried.
- 5. By acclamation, the Executive Committee includes:

Co Chairs Joanne Beetstra (Trail) and Mary Kierans (Grand Forks)

Vice Chair Kevin Atherton (Elkford)
Treasurer Terry Welsh (Nakusp)
Representatives Jan Kohlhauser (Midway)

Daneve McAffer (Invermere)

Daneve McAffer stepped down as Chair, and Jen Tagg stepped down as a member of the Executive Committee.

6. Motion that the 2022 KLF Financial Review as presented by Terry Welsh be approved by Joanne Beetstra and seconded by Debbra Mikaelsen. Carried.

Motion that a Financial Audit Committee for the 2023 Financial Review be appointed at the KLF's Fall Meeting by Kevin Atherton and seconded by Dave Evans. Carried.

- 7. Daniel Moe moved that the 2023 Final Budget be approved as presented. Seconded by Debbra Mikaelsen.
- 8. Motion to change KLF signing authorities from Daneve McAffer, Shannon Gawne, Melanie Reaveley and Gloria Currie to Joanne Beetstra, Shannon Gawne, Melanie Reaveley and Gloria Currie by Terry Welsh and seconded by Mary Kierans.
- 9. Motion to adjourn the meeting by Kevin Atherton.